STEM Bursary Scheme expanded in Scotland

March 15, 2020


Following the success of the 2019-20 scheme, the Scottish Government expands its STEM Bursary Scheme

STEM Bursary Scheme expanded in Scotland

Due to a high demand for STEM teachers, the Scottish Government has increased the number of people who can switch careers from 100 to 150.  Trainees are entitled to £20,000 each in funding as part of the bursary scheme.  Consequently, the budget for the scheme has increased to £3 million from £2 million.  Home Economics has been added to the list of subjects for the first time.

Students graduate with a Professional Graduate Diploma in Education – Initial Teacher Education qualification (PGDE ITE).  The full list of eligible subjects is: maths, computing science. technical education, physics, chemistry and home economics.  Applicants are also expected to have been in employment for at least 36 out of the last 60 months to meet the eligibility criteria.

The STEM Bursary scheme is part of the STEM Strategy for Education and Training which was circulated towards the end of 2017.  This strategy also includes the Young STEM Leaders programme, an initiative which aims to motivate students through peer mentoring.

“ Developing STEM skills is vital for our future economy, and having great STEM teachers who are enthusiastic about their subjects will inspire the next generation of the Scottish workforce… These bursaries continue to provide financial help, making it easier for enthusiastic career changers to take that step into a rewarding and exciting new career, sharing their passion and expertise with young people. ” John Swinney, Deputy First Minister

Applications are open from Monday 16th March for students holding an offer on a PGDE ITE teacher education course and planning to attend one of the following universities:

  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Queen Margaret University
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Dundee
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of the Highlands and Islands
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of the West of Scotland

Further details are available here: