Australian STEM competition to proceed online

July 3, 2020

This year’s STANSW Young Scientist STEM competition set to continue using online format

Australian STEM competition to proceed online

The Science Teachers’ Association of New South Wales (STANSW) has decided that this year’s STEM competition will continue in an online format.  The competition has been running since 1992 and is organised by a 15 member committee.  The competition is affiliated with the US International Science and Engineering Fair.  Students that perform well in the competition may be nominated to enter the prestigious BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Awards, with the aim of finding the most capable engineers in Australia.

The three main categories for project entries and associated awards are:

– Mathematical Association of New South Wales (MANSW) Working Mathematically Awards

– Science Teachers’ Association of New South Wales (STANSW) Scientific Investigations Awards

– Institute of Technology Education (iTE) Innovation and Engineering Design Awards Year 7 – 12 and the OshClub Inventions and Innovations Awards Year K-6

Some key dates are:

– 2020 STANSW Young Scientist Paper Plane Challenge: Friday 28th August 2020

– All Secondary Projects: Wednesday 9th September 2020

– All Primary Projects: Wednesday 16th September 2020

– STANSW Young Scientist Awards Presentation Ceremony: Friday 13th November 2020

The Young Scientist Award Scheme aims to stimulate curiosity through inquiry to undertake innovative investigations.  Informed by the world of Science, Mathematics and Technology, students are encouraged to find creative solutions to everyday problems to make our lives better.  The Young Scientist Award Scheme is a NSW syllabus based K to 12 STEM initiative. STANSW Young Scientist Awards Website

The principal sponsor of the competition is the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science which commits over AUD $20,000.  Other major sponsors (AUD $5000+) include Australian Skeptics Inc, BHP Foundation, Broadcom Foundation, Office of the NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer, Rowe Scientific and Selby Scientific Foundation.

More information can be accessed here: